Stewards of the iconic buildings and grounds of Capitol Hill since 1793.

Featured

The sun shining on the Ionic Columns on the Longworth House Office Building.
The Ionic column is typically identified by its capital, which includes large...

Featured

Visitor Hours for the Buildings on Capitol Hill
Visitor Hours for the Buildings on Capitol Hill.

Featured

Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, LEED AP, Architect of the Capitol
On February 24, 2010, President Barack Obama nominated Mr. Ayers to serve as...

Featured

Early House of Representatives Chamber (artist representation)
Too hot or too cold – there is no pleasing everyone when it comes to the right...

Elliot Woods

Elliot Woods
Elliot Woods, Sixth Architect of the Capitol
Born: 
February 2, 1865 near Manchester, England
Died: 
May 22, 1923, Spring Lake, New Jersey
Appointed by President Theodore Roosevelt, February 19, 1902; Died in office May 22, 1923

Elliott Woods was appointed "Superintendent of the Capitol Building and Grounds" in 1902 by President Theodore Roosevelt to fill the vacancy caused by Edward Clark’s death. Because Woods was not an architect, the name of the office was changed to "Superintendent." The title reverted to "Architect of the Capitol" in 1921 as a way of honoring Woods, who had successfully managed the construction of the monumental House and Senate Office Buildings (now called the Cannon House Office Building and the Russell Senate Office Building) and the Capitol Power Plant.

Born in England during his parents’ travel abroad in 1865, Woods had a high school education. He joined Clark’s office in 1885 and worked his way up to become chief assistant and de facto head of the agency during the last few years of Clark’s life. His appointment was greeted with skepticism by the architectural community, but Woods proved to be an effective administrator and was popular in Congress. He died in office in 1923.