Explore the Capitol Campus

Map of the Capitol

Displaying 146 Items
Here, the Senate and House of Representatives come together to discuss, debate and deliberate national policy; develop consensus; and craft the country's laws.
Celebrated as the largest equestrian monument in the U.S., it is a tour de force of monumental sculpture.
Senate Fountain

Water Feature

The display fountain in the park between the U.S. Capitol and Union Station is located over the Senate underground garage.
The Robert A. Taft Memorial and Carillon honors Senator Taft from Ohio, who served in the Senate from 1938-1953.
Peace Monument
Peace Monument


The white marble Peace Monument was erected in 1877-1878 to commemorate the naval deaths at sea during the Civil War.
Court of Neptune

Water Feature

This fountain at the front of the Library of Congress Thomas Jefferson Building adds a dramatic note to the building.
A welcoming and educational environment for visitors to learn about the unique characteristics of the House and Senate as well as Capitol architecture and art.


This hexagon-shaped brick structure set into the sloping hillside in front of the Capitol Building has offered rest and shelter to travelers for over a century.
The Capitol Reflecting Pool is located at the eastern end of the National Mall. Six acres in size, it occupies over half of the area called Union Square.
The National Garden is an outdoor laboratory for gardening in harmony with natural ecosystems and a place for visitors to experience the diversity of plants.
This historic Lord & Burnham greenhouse contains two courtyard gardens and 10 garden rooms under glass, totaling 28,944 square feet of exhibition space.
Bartholdi Park serves as a home landscape demonstration garden and showcases innovative plant combinations in a variety of styles and design themes.
The Marshall Building houses agencies that support the work of Federal Courts including the Administrative Office, Judicial Center, and Sentencing Commission.
First occupied on October 7, 1935, the Supreme Court building is a fitting home for the nation's third branch of government.
The Russell Senate Office Building (built 1903-1908) is the oldest of the Senate office buildings as well as a significant example of the Beaux Arts style.
The Hart Building is the third office structure designed and built to serve the United States Senate.
The Dirksen Building is the second of three office buildings constructed for the United States Senate.
The Library of Congress began in 1800 with a small appropriation to buy reference books.
The second building constructed for the Library of Congress opened in 1939. It was known simply as "The Annex" before being named for President John Adams.
Opened in 1980, the Madison Building is the largest library structure in the world.
The Rayburn House Office Building, completed in early 1965, is the third of three office buildings constructed for the United States House of Representatives.
The O'Neill House Office Building was constructed in the early 1960s for use as Food and Drug Administration laboratories.
Completed in the spring of 1933, the Longworth House Office Building is the second of three office buildings constructed for the U.S. House of Representatives.
The Cannon House Office Building, completed in 1908, is the oldest House office building.
The Capitol Power Plant provides steam and chilled water used to heat and cool buildings throughout the U.S. Capitol campus.
Constructed in 1939 as Washington D.C.'s first "General Federal Office Building."